Son of a Gun!

Musings on Arsenal Football Club by a Singaporean Gooner (Gooner since 1988)

Melo deal is dead, let’s look to alternatives July 12, 2009

Filed under: Philippe Senderos,Transfer Rumours — Son of a Gunner @ 10:58 pm

Top Arsenal stories the past few days during my ‘down-time’:

Philippe Senderos, who was earlier linked to Fiorentina, Aston Villa and Hertha Berlin, is now rumoured to be targeted by Sunderland. Of all the rumours so far, this to me seems most likely due to Steve Bruce’s relationship with Wenger. Djourou was loaned to Birmingham when he was boss and he also signed Wilson Palacios after recommendation by Wenger. How this will turn out remains to be seen though. The longer Senderos remains at Arsenal, the more likely he will see out his contract with us. And that could mean a second chance which I’m clamouring for.

Knowing Flamini in this situation make me laugh but feel sad at the same time. Soon I will be running a series of weekly posts on Arsenal players who have made mistakes leaving the club and no prizes for guessing who will be among these posts.

As we know, Melo is very close to signing for Juventus and should be officially unveiled as early as Monday. This is a disappointment but at the same time, if a player wishes to sign for a Juventus team in decline and not choose an Arsenal team in which he knows he is assured of playing also shows his own ambition. Since this deal is dead, I think we Gooners should just look forward to other options.

Lorik Cana, as I have mentioned extensively in my previous posts, is not technically gifted enough in my opinion to make an impact at Arsenal. Blaise Matuidi is a player I have not seen in action but he plays for St Etienne, a team whose striker Bafétimbi Gomis is the most famous player, and who ended the Ligue 1 seasonin 17th position. I am definitely not impressed with his credentials. If he is the only option then I think we can look internally for options. Inler is still being linked but I seriously feel he has lost the chnce to join Arsenal since he decided to stay at Udinese the last time we tried signing him. Wenger admitted to approaching him but he decided to stay till the end of the season and I think Wenger has already looked elsewhere and so we can forget about this one too.

Life was looking great a week ago with Melo seemingly a real possibility. I just hope Wenger can pull off a surprise somewhere. This is one position in which we cannot afford not to strengthen and I believe Wenger knows and understands that more than anyone. We will be observing the transfer news closely during this pre-season.

From tomorrow till end July, I will be writing about each position in the first team (including the bench) and who I think should be playing and how they can contribute to the team on the pitch. Please check back for more.

 

Leave a Reply

