Son of a Gun!

Musings on Arsenal Football Club by a Singaporean Gooner (Gooner since 1988)

Ha Ha Ha Ha (at Hleb)! July 21, 2009

Filed under: Former Gunners,Worth a laugh — Son of a Gunner @ 11:27 pm

When Alexander Hleb left the club, I was really frustrated and upset. I bought the yellow away jersey at the Arsenal store at Highbury the day after I watched the League Cup semi-final second-leg against Wigan, and decided to print Hleb 13 on the shirt. I thought he was brilliant during the game, when I really saw him up-close with his quick feet and exciting ball skills.

It was one of my favorite away shirts as it was the only one I bought at Highbury and I like the design a great deal. Now, it will never again see the light of day.

I think his departure is one of the worst footballing moves over the past decade. He was a star at Arsenal, established as one of Europe’s finest. Together with Rosicky, Flamini and Cesc, they formed what is the most creative and effective Arsenal midfield since the class of the Invincibles. Unfortunately, we lost half of that combination through departures and one more to injury. If they had stayed together and stayed fit, I am very confident this midfield could have matched Barcelona’s own majestic midfield.

And his reason for leaving Arsenal was because it was too fast-paced and noisy. He sure ain’t been to Singapore before. Then he moved on to a big city in Barcelona. Madness.

When he was left out of the entire squad (didn’t even made the bench) during last season’s Champions League final against Manchester United, all Gooners round the world laughed.

Now, let us laugh again at his admission that he regretted leaving Arsenal and Arsene, a manager he now claims he will “die for” on the pitch.

I had planned to do a monthly post of the worst Arsenal departures after I’m done with all the positions for the season ahead, but this one had come earlier than expected.

At least he has the guts to admit his regret. Something I’m sure Flamini would never do!

Oh well, Adebayor can now see his own future in 2 years from now, having just left Arsenal!

P.S. I would like to thank Jamie Sanderson, the writer of Young Guns, for adding me to his list of Arsenal links. Cheers, mate!

 

Leave a Reply

