Son of a Gun!

Musings on Arsenal Football Club by a Singaporean Gooner (Gooner since 1988)

Poll Results August 9, 2009

Filed under: SOG Polls — Son of a Gunner @ 11:00 pm

So the biggest news from the past week is that we have drawn Celtic for the Champions League qualifying draw, losing our final pre-season friendly to Valencia and finally losing Rosicky to injury… again. I’ll be commenting more on the above when I get better. I really cannot recall the last time I fell sick twice in a fortnight, but my long weekend (national day holiday) seemed burnt due to this.

Anyway, poll results of the past week:

First poll – Do you think Arsenal need to replace Senderos?
Results:
Yes, we are short on numbers and quality in defence. 100%
No, we have enough quality back-up defenders. 0%

I think it is pretty obvious that shold we lose Senderos then we are a little short in quality if not quantity in defence. I can’t have emphasized this fact enough throughout my young blog. Djourou, Gallas and Vermaelen are our top defenders and Silvestre is unreliable at best and Song has not really shown he is a real defender. He is more of a midfielder than a defender. In any case, if we were to use Song in defence then who will take the holding midfield role if no one else is coming in? Wenger must have seen this problem too, admitting recently that he is looking to bring in a defensive player and an attacking player. However, it remains to be seen if the defensive player he is referring to is a defender or a defensive midfielder. However, Senderos is still officially an Arsenal player and the Swiss FA simply jumped the gun in comfirming his move to Everton. Although the chances are slim, I hope he will stay.

Second poll – Do you think Arsenal should get Vieira to return?
Results:
No, he is way past his best and makes no economic sense. 60%
Yes, we need a player of his stature and experience. 40%

I have stated in one of my previous polls on why I think Vieira won’t return to Arsenal and Wenger seemed to have ruled out this move recently as well. I feel if money should be spent, then it would be better to spend it wisely somewhere else. He might have been a sensible signing but he won’t have settled for a diminished role at the club. I still hope to see a genuine midfield enforcer signed before this transfer window closes.

Third poll – Which of the following Arsenal players will be most significant when they return?
Results:
Theo Walcott 89%
Samir Nasri 11%
Abou Diaby 0%
Lukasz Fabianski 0%
Carlos Vela 0%
Kieran Gibbs 0%

I’m quite surprised with this results as I thought Samir Nasri would have brought the biggest impact upon his return. But Theo Walcott has been improving vastly since 2 seasons ago and the new formation would suit an offensive and direct player like himself. I can’t wait to see him match fit but with the new formation, I’m not even sure if he will even make the first team as often as last season as the first choice attacking trio seemed to be Van Persie, Arshavin and Bendtner. We shall see.

Next, I have missed the friendly game against Valencia (due to sickness, see above) but I can still pick up interesting bits from the match report. I will comment on it with the other big news like the Celtic draw tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

