Son of a Gun!

Musings on Arsenal Football Club by a Singaporean Gooner (Gooner since 1988)

Premier League match preview: Arsenal vs Portsmouth August 19, 2009

Filed under: Premier League,Season 2009/2010 — Son of a Gunner @ 9:11 pm

As I will be leaving for Bangkok tomorrow for my company’s incentive trip, I won’t be able to post until return on Sunday. Therefore, I think it is right for me to preview this Saturday’s game today.

We will finally be playing our very first home game of the season against Portsmouth, who looks weaker than last season.
– Kanu is another year older and is getting less and less effective with every game.
– They no longer have Armand Traore who has returned to Arsenal.
– They lost their opening game at home to Fulham

They still have some very good players like David James, Sylvain Distin and Niko Kranjčar (who is permanently linked to us for some reason).

I think after starting the same lineup for two games, Wenger would be twitching things a bit here and there to keep the players fresh. Ramsey, Diaby, Eboue and Eduardo (If he is fit) should see some action this weekend and I won’t be surprised to see Gibbs and Wilshere play some part as well. Even with a changed side, I feel we have too much quality not to win at the Emirates. However, I think the back four, especially the central defensive partnership, should remain unchanged for them to get more understanding and experience of playing together. Also, as long as we don’t have another solid defensive midfielder other than Song, we should keep playing him. I hope we can get another player in the same mould, better with experience, so that we can rotate a bit as well. This role is energy-sapping and it is important to get another player in there, to give challenge as well as to guide Song to the next level.

Here’s to another win on Saturday. I’ll be watching in Bangkok, where will you be watching?

 

Leave a comment